TOWN OF FRANKLIN TOURISM DEVELOPEMNT AUTHORITY

MEETING MINUTES

July 10, 2023

Present: Chair Connie Grubermann, Members Amie Owens, Kevin Covell, Tim Crabtree, Josh Drake, Hannah Edwards, Guy Gooder, Rob Reale, and Angela Martin (arrived at 5:31).

Others present: Nicole Bradley, HR Director/Town Clerk Mia Overton, The Franklin Press Dan Finnerty, Macon County News Carly Moser, Drake Enterprises Mary Guerico, TribalVibe Promotions

1. <u>Call to Order- Chair Connie Grubermann</u> The meeting was called to order at 5:30 p.m.

2. Approval of the June 12, 2023 Meeting Minutes

Member Guy Gooder made a motion, seconded by Member Rob Reale to approve the minutes of the June 12, 2023 meeting as presented. Motion carried unanimously by a vote of 6-0.

3. Financial Reports- ending May 2023

Town Manager Amie Owens presented the Financial Report thru the end of May 2023. She noted that May 2023 was the highest May on record, (\$19,148.76) and includes one payment from April of \$57.48. Total expenses thus far \$245,443.48 leaving the balance of \$19,906.52 (\$1,250 to Smoky Mountain Shrine Club has yet to be disbursed; waiting on their EIN #) and \$158,007.16 remains in TDA Fund Balance. The report is incorporated into these minutes as Exhibit A.

Member Josh Drake made a motion, seconded by Member Tim Crabtree to approve the financial report ending May 2023. Motion carried unanimously by a vote of 9-0.

5. <u>New Business</u>

- A.) New Applications for consideration:
 - Request for TDA support from Tribal Vibe Promotions- Come Together Festival- September 30, 2023. The requested amount is \$1,500.

Mary Guercio, TribalVibe Promotions, presented an application for funding. The request is for \$1,500. The festival is a mental health reset day with speakers and performers. The funds will be used to cover the venue (Altered Frequencies) and performers. This item will be voted on at the August 14, 2023 meeting.

B.) Marketing Report

Carly Moser, Drake Enterprises, gave a marketing update. The TDA budget for FY 2023/2024 for Marketing is \$217,000. Mrs. Moser recapped the approved budget proposal for the new Board

members. The marketing focus for July will be families; hiking, waterfalls, gem mining, and fishing. During July- September Local IQ will send house targeting emails. The Get Creative service is working and reaching people. Mrs. Moser has been reviewing the google analytics reports and most searches for Franklin are coming from: NC, GA, SC, TN. Local IQ is targeting Atlanta, Charlotte, and Nashville (recently added). The next target area will be Raleigh.

C.) Board Member Terms – (3) three-year terms and (3) two- year terms

Manager Amie Owens discussed the need to assign terms to the recently appointed members. Three members will need to serve a three-year term and three members will need to serve a two-year term. Manager Owens noted that typically the incumbents should serve the three-year term. Members Josh Drake and Tim Crabtree agreed to serve a new three-year term. The remaining four (4) new members received the same number of votes. Member Hannah Edwards volunteered the serve a three year-term. Members Rob Reale, Angela Faye Martin, and Guy Gooder will each serve the two-year terms.

D.) Enabling Legislation and Rules of Procedure- initial discussion Manager Amie Owens led the discussion on occupancy tax collection legislation and the current Rules of Procedure for the TDA Board. Chair Connie Grubermann asked for volunteers to form a subcommittee to review the current TDA Bylaws. Member Kevin Covell volunteered. This item will be visited again at the August 14, 2023 meeting.

6. <u>Items from the Board</u>

A.) Manager Owens noted that the Graham County TDA guest speaker would be at the August meeting

7. <u>Announcements</u>

A.) The next regular scheduled TDA meeting will be held on Monday, August 14, 2023 at 5:30 p.m. in the Town Hall Board Room.

8. <u>Adjourn</u>

Member Josh Drake made a motion, seconded by Member Tim Crabtree to adjourn the meeting at 6:15 p.m. The motion carried unanimously by a vote of 9-0.

Connie Grubermann, Chairperson

Nicole Bradley, Town Clerk